Steven Spielberg Gets a Record 13th Directors Guild Award Nomination

The all-male list omitted major contenders this season like James Cameron, Baz Luhrmann, Sarah Polley and Gina Prince-Bythewood.

Send any friend a story

As a subscriber, you have 10 gift articles to give each month. Anyone can read what you share.

By Kyle Buchanan

The Directors Guild of America announced its feature-film nominees on Wednesday, awarding a record 13th nomination to Steven Spielberg, who also won the best director Golden Globe this week for “The Fabelmans.” The four other directors nominated for the DGA’s top prize were Todd Field (“Tár”), Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (“Everything Everywhere All at Once”), Joseph Kosinski (“Top Gun: Maverick”) and Martin McDonagh (“The Banshees of Inisherin”).

Several big names were shut out, including James Cameron (“Avatar: The Way of Water”) and Baz Luhrmann (“Elvis”), who directed two of the year’s most successful films. And though the last two DGAs for feature-film directing were won by Jane Campion (“The Power of the Dog”) and Chloé Zhao (“Nomadland”), representing the first time in the guild's history that women triumphed in that race in back-to-back years, all five of this year’s nominees were men, as contenders Sarah Polley (“Women Talking”) and Gina Prince-Bythewood (“The Woman King”) failed to make the shortlist.

Typically, four of the five DGA nominees are also nominated for the best-director Oscar: Last year, DGA nominee Denis Villeneuve (“Dune”) was the only one to not make the cut, as Oscar voters chose “Drive My Car” director Ryusuke Hamaguchi instead. The year before, DGA pick Aaron Sorkin (“The Trial of the Chicago 7”) fell short and was replaced in the Oscar nominations by Thomas Vinterberg (“Another Round”).

Here is a rundown of the nominees in the major film and television categories. For the complete list, including commercials, reality shows and children’s programming, go to



Todd Field, “Tár”

Joseph Kosinski, “Top Gun: Maverick”

Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”

Martin McDonagh, “The Banshees of Inisherin”

Steven Spielberg, “The Fabelmans”

First-Time Feature

Alice Diop, “Saint Omer”

Audrey Diwan, “Happening”

John Patton Ford, “Emily the Criminal”

Antoneta Alamat Kusijanovi, “Murina”

Charlotte Wells, “Aftersun”


Sara Dosa, “Fire of Love”

Matthew Heineman, “Retrograde”

Laura Poitras, “All the Beauty and the Bloodshed”

Daniel Roher, “Navalny”

Shaunak Sen, “All That Breathes”


Drama Series

Jason Bateman, “Ozark” (“A Hard Way to Go”)

Vince Gilligan, “Better Call Saul” (“Waterworks”)

Sam Levinson, “Euphoria” (“Stand Still Like the Hummingbird”)

Aoife McArdle, “Severance” (“Hide and Seek”)

Ben Stiller, “Severance” (“The We We Are”)

Comedy Series

Tim Burton, “Wednesday” (“Wednesday’s Child Is Full of Woe”)

Bill Hader, “Barry” (“710N”)

Amy Sherman-Palladino, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (“How Do You Get to Carnegie Hall?”)

Christopher Storer, “The Bear” (“Review”)

Mike White, “White Lotus” (“BYG”)

Movies for TV and Limited Series

Eric Appel, “Weird: The Al Yankovic Story”

Deborah Chow, “Obi-Wan Kenobi”

Jeremy Podeswa, “Station Eleven” (“Unbroken Circle”)

Helen Shaver, “Station Eleven” (“Who’s There”)

Tom Verica, “Inventing Anna” (“The Devil Wore Anna”)

Site Information Navigation

Source: Read Full Article