Harry Potter books: How many books in Harry Potter canon? Did JK Rowling write them all?

JK Rowling brought to life one of the best children’s characters in recent history. The books amazed fans and soon took on a new life as movies, online games and spin-off series. But purists may want to read all the works of JK Rowling together, knowing the full, legitimate canon.

How many books are there in the Harry Potter canon?

The original series of Harry Potter books consists of seven novels.

Here is the list of original novels following the life of Harry Potter:

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Each of these films was adapted into a film, with the last book being split across two films.

Since these books were released, however, a great number of other books have been released, many of which have been written by JK Rowling.

In 2001, between the Goblet of Fire and the Order of the Phoenix, Rowling released the first spin-off books, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and Quidditch Through the Ages.


  • Emma Watson speaks out in JK Rowling transgender row

The first is a textbook from Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, while the second is a book Harry is believed to have read for fun while at school.

The profits from the sales of these books were given to Comic Relief, and in 2007 Rowling wrote The Tales of the Beedle the Bard, a collection of fairy tales read by Hermione at school.

The 2007 copies were handwritten and auctioned to raise money for the Children’s High Level Group, before it was published internationally in 2008.

Also in 2008, Rowling wrote a short prequel as part of a Waterstones fundraiser, which included extra information about the wizarding world.

In 2015, the plot of the play Harry Potter and the Cursed Child was revealed, which was written by Jack Thorne based on a story from Rowling.

This play is set 19 years after the ending of the original Harry Potter novels, focusing on Harry, now a Ministry of Magic employee, and his younger son Albus.

In 2016, the final spin-off books were released in the form of three e-books: Hogwarts: An Incomplete and Unreliable Guide; Short Stories from Hogwarts of Power, Politics and Pesky Poltergeists; and Short Stories from Hogwarts of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies.

This means, altogether, there are 14 novels in the whole canon, as well as the play.

As well as this, other than the play, everything has been written by Rowling.

Source: Read Full Article